Former firefighter, Life long model builder...

Former firefighter, Life long model builder...

Postby Wagoneer81 on Fri Mar 27, 2015 5:56 pm

Hello!!!
A couple of you may know me from a couple of Facebook model pages as Chris Eddy (My real name...). I have been a model builder for over 30 years and am a former firefighter/EMT with Summitville Volunteer Fire Dept. Summitville, IN. I served with them from 1991-98.
For some time, (years, actually) I have been tossing around the idea of building a 1/25 scale fire dept. Now seems to be the time to start because recently, I've been able to flesh out the fictitious departments particulars;
The Dept., set in the early 1990's, will serve the fictional East Central Indiana city of New Lancaster, population 12,000, sited at the crossroads of a US Route and a State Highway. This is the county seat of an alternate reality Madison County Indiana. For variety, this department will cover not just the city proper but also two rural townships covering 75 square miles which includes a section of river popular with sports fishermen and canoeists. The department will require two or three city pumpers, an aerial truck, light and heavy rescues. The township will need two large 4000+ gallon tanker pumpers, a 4x4 brush rig and a 4x4 light rescue unit able to tow a Zodiac or similar boat and trailer for fast water rescue operations.
Over the next few years, I will be building around 12 vehicles to serve this area.
I currently have on hand an AMT Ladder Chief kit, most of the parts for an AMT ALF Pumper and a Jeep J10 pickup that I will be converting to a J20 and adding a 200 gallon/250gpm skid unit to for a Brush Truck.
I look forward to sharing my progress here and learning from others who have more knowledge on the subject than I do.
Wagoneer81

Re: Former firefighter, Life long model builder...

Postby jimb on Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:19 am

Welcome, Chris.
Jim

Chittenango Fire Department
Sullivan Fire District #1
http://chittenangofire.org